One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

Marseille Cathedral

I have just returned to Marseille after a few days back in the UK. I have just had all of my belongings delivered to my flat, so I’m feeling a lot more comfortable and settled now. The mistral is blowing a gale at present, so I thought I would do a short post on Marseille Cathedral, another one of my architectural highlights of the city!

20111207-190725.jpg

Marseille Cathedral, or Cathedral Sainte-Marie-Majeure de Marseille is located to the north west of the Vieux Port next to the new museum of the Mediterranean (being built in time for MP2013). The present cathedral dates back to the 1820’s and is recognised as a national monument. However, the site has previously housed cathedral structures since Roman occupation.

20111207-191156.jpg

The current structure was designed by the architects Henri-jacques Esperendieu and Leon Vaudoyer. Well worth a visit!

Leave a Reply

