One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

Relaxing day on the îles du frioul

Due to the schools being off for half term vacation, my Fiancée and I were both lucky enough to have a weekday off together. We were joined by another couple of friends and decided to head out on the ferry-boat service (The Navette) to the îles du frioul from the Port. The service goes at different intervals every day of the week, and has only cancelled 75 times due to bad weather in its entire history. Pretty impressive really when you see the state of the sea during a Mistral!

The trip costs 15 euros, or 10 euros if you want to bypass Chateau d’if.

20120301-120722.jpg

20120301-120754.jpg

Chateau d’if

20120301-120807.jpg

First things first LUNCH! We stopped off near the little port for a lovely lunch. Moule Frit, cold beers, sunshine, great service… and these fantastic views. It really made me realise how lucky I am to have this on my doorstep.

20120301-120826.jpg

20120301-120914.jpg

We then all went for a stroll around the footpaths on the Island. The rocks landscape still holds many clues as to its strategic use during the Second Word War, as disused bunkers, trenches and gun positions testified.

20120301-120944.jpg

The landscape was stunning, with tiny inlets and small secluded beaches could be found between gaps in the craggy rocks. The colour and clarity of the water is something that still blows me away.

20120301-121001.jpg

20120301-121023.jpg

After a bit of calamity trying to get a ferry back (first one was too full meaning we were forced to have another Pastis!), we got back home. A wonderful take, which I highly recommend. I can see this being very popular during the summer, so make sure to arrive at the boats well before departure to make sure you get a space.

6 responses

  1. Nice photos! I haven’t been to Chateau D’if, yet and I am on myself about that!
    Ashley

    March 2, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  2. Thank you! Yes it was well worth a trip! Maybe do it sooner rather than later before the tourist season!

    T

    March 3, 2012 at 11:39 am

  3. Reblogged this on Humeurs de Niko and commented:
    Marseille vue par un expatrié anglais..

    March 6, 2012 at 8:23 am

  4. Je me suis permis de rebloguer l’article.. #enfrancaisdansletexte

    March 6, 2012 at 8:33 am

  5. So, yes, you did visit Frioul. Only saw this post of yours after I commented on one of your last ones. Lovely pictures of an amazing place! I can’t wait to come back and bring a camera with a better lens as I didn’t manage to photograph everything I wanted today 🙂

    April 9, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

