One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

Englishman is talking about the food… AGAIN!

So, this week it was the Birthday or Anniversaire of my Fiancée. As we are now mid-twenties and are attempting to live our lives as sophisticated adults to variable success, we thought we would have a light buffet with friends and family. Now my initial thoughts when it comes to the word ‘buffet’ is the traditional English style finger food of cocktail sausages, cold pizza and coleslaw served up on a floppy paper plate, which inevitably flexes as you pull away from the table, giving freedom to a stray pickled onion. As with any type of food here however, the French take things to the next level.

We prepared a selection of seafood, salads and various cheeses – whilst we waited for the Mother of my Fiancée to bring a couple more dishes she wanted to prepare. It turns at that ‘a couple of dishes’ in France seems to somehow translate as 10 plates of intricate platters, as well as fruit and 2 different types of desert which took her all day to prepare. She also brought along 2 bottled of champagne to add to our extensive alcohol supplies, which could have quite easily killed a small elephant if drunk at once.

20120318-115811.jpg

The night was a great success with a lovely time had by all. Lots of laughing, telling old stories and generally embarrassing my Fiancée! The food was unbelievable. My head the next morning was rather less thrilling!

20120318-115819.jpg

The only slight hiccup was a poor spelling mistake on the personalised Birthday cake, which my fiancées father had ordered. See if you can spot it below…

PS, it isn’t a mistake in the spelling of her name. Comment below if you can spot it!

;

9 responses

  1. corinneviking

    Piece of cake!

    You are turning French if you are starting to make comments about finding spelling mistakes which I believed was a truly French obsession. Anniversaire is a masculine word so Bon Anniversaire 😉

    March 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

  2. Correct!

    March 18, 2012 at 10:27 pm

  3. Was searching WordPress sites for south of France information and came across this. Ooh, that buffet looks mouth-watering! I do love the French way of doing buffets. Now you’ve made me crave French cheese and all I have is a banana! Great article 🙂

    March 21, 2012 at 9:53 am

  4. The buffet looks delicious! Fortunately I do have to wait until two weeks until I’ll be in the Provence again.
    Happy Birthday to your dearest!

    March 21, 2012 at 10:09 am

  5. corinne

    Speaking of spelling mistakes, I’d got it all wrong from the beginning since I thought you had a Fiancé, and now I see you have a FiancéE!

    March 25, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    • Haha! Sorry, I sometimes types posts on my phone, so may make the occasional error!

      All the best,

      T

      March 25, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    • I have just realised my mistake, and have rectified. I feel very embarrassed now!!

      T

      March 25, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      • corinne

        not that there is anything wrong in having a fiancé!
        corinne

        April 4, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  6. After a recent trip to the south of France have fallen in love with the place, the food, the people! The buffet looks delicious!

    April 10, 2012 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

