One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

Kayaking from Les Catalans

20120331-095038.jpg

So, when me and my girlfriend first discussed moving over and everything that it would entail, one of my major points of negotiation was that I couldn’t be departed from my little sea kayak. As I have stated in previous posts, I am a bit of an angling fanatic, and love catching fresh fish to eat – safe in the knowledge that I know exactly where it comes from and how fresh it is.

The relatives of my girlfriend had organised a space at their local boat club for me when I moved over, and I also felt this would be a great opportunity for me to socialize with people, and get my French up to scratch.

This week I had a day off, and the conditions were pretty perfect. The temperature was around 23 degrees, no wind and not a cloud in site. The locals have an expression in French “le mere d’huile” to describe the state of the sea on days like this, which means the sea of oil.  Below are some pictures of the trip out. If you fancy doing something similar, I have heard there are centres towards the Prado and Le Point Rouge where you are able to hire kayaks from. I highly recommend it, as you get a totally different perspective of the city, and on days like this it is very relaxing!

20120331-095054.jpg

Setting off (note the clarity of the water!)

20120331-095101.jpg

20120331-095110.jpg

View back towards the shore, with Notre Dame de la Garde in the distance.

20120331-095117.jpg

20120331-095125.jpg

The headland towards Le Point Rouge.

20120331-095131.jpg

I also managed to catch lots of brightly coloured Girelles, which are a very common fish around the rocky shores of Marseille. These are perfect for the famous Marseille Fish Soup! I will have a go at preparing this soon, and will look at putting a blog together with a recipe, for those interested!

20120331-095146.jpg

Roll on the Summer!

 

One response

  1. Wow, I think this must be wonderful! Love your photos (especially the fourth one and the one towards Le Point Rouge) and the fishes do look beautiful. Hope they tasted delicious too.

    April 9, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Leave a Reply

