One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

Artisan 13 – L’Ecosse à l’honneur

Over the weekend I headed out to St Just to l’hotel de département for the Scottish themed Artisan 13 festival. The Conseil General along with the Anglo Med business network had worked in co-operation with the Scottish tourist board to promote Scottish and Provencal designers, jewelry makers, musicians and food experts to create a unique Provencal-Celtic blend.

20120416-210925.jpg

The expo featured some fantastic Scottish musicians, dancers and singers playing traditions folk music. I have to say it left me a little teary-eyed and emotional, even a little home sick (even though I’m English!) It was lovely to hear some songs in the English language again, and it was great to see the local children getting involved too.

20120416-210936.jpg

20120416-210949.jpg

We moved on to the exterior food stalls and outdoor activity stands. We saw most of a live food show by 2 top chefs who created deserts containing Foie Gras. I tried the samples, and can’t say I liked it too much, but I was impressed by the preparation and techniques they used.

20120416-210955.jpg

20120416-211003.jpg

For lunch we had a Scottish/Provencal mix of Haggis accompanied by a Seafood platter! Probably not the best mix I know, but we were trying to get into the spirit of the day! (Note the chutney accompanying the Haggis. I have never heard of this before, so I suspected it was to make the Haggis slightly more palatable for the French!)

20120416-211010.jpg

20120416-211017.jpg

We then headed over to the Scottish produce stand where they were selling traditional Scottish smoked fish for a very reasonable price. Note the very special label below…

20120416-211025.jpg

We also talked to one of the head Chefs of the stand, who runs one of the largest catering schools in the Provence. He told us that they do exchange programs with other catering schools around Europe over the summer, where students can come and learn about traditional Provencal cooking, and vise-versa for the French children they exchange with. A lovely idea!

20120416-211031.jpg

All-in-all it was a fantastic day with a great ambiance. I’m looking forward to seeing more events like this in the lead up to Marseille-Provence 2013 capital of culture.

2 responses

  1. OMG- Men in Kilts and Scottish dancing and music! Why did I not know about this before the fact instead of after! I would have so went to this and had a blast. I must make sure I don’t miss it the next time around 🙂
    Ashley

    April 18, 2012 at 11:45 am

  2. The one thing I can say is men in Kilts + le Mistral is not a great combination!

    April 18, 2012 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

