One very awkward englishman, boldly goes…

The Guardian – The view from Marseille

20120505-113838.jpg

(Currently updating this from the beach. This is currently my view, above!)

Firstly, sorry for not updating this recently. I have started a new job a week ago which is now taking up a lot of my time. All good though!

Last Monday, on a rather overcast day here in Marseille I organised a small apéro at one of my favorite café overlooking the port  to discuss the French elections with Guardian journalist Jon Henley. Jon was on a mission to travel around France through the week, hearing ‘normal’ people’s opinions on the French elections so far. He was then live blogging his experience through The Guardian website and twitter, to create an interactive map of his journey along he way. He arrived in Marseille on Monday morning, and would leave Paris on Friday, and his journey in between would be entirely spontaneous, based on suggestions of issues in certain regions and people who wanted to talk to him about it.

I gathered a few friends I have here, including my fiancée, and some choice opinions from the discussion can be found HERE.

(NB: I was more involved in the organisation of the project, and didn’t share any views that I have, as it was more based on people who had lived in and knew Marseille for a long time.)

2 responses

  1. Great article! I have been watching the elections quite closely even though I can’t vote because I am not a citizen in France. I have found this election to be one of the most exciting ones ever, including those in the USA! I am anxiously awaiting the results and will be tuned in tonight to see what the next 5 years holds for France.
    Ashley

    May 6, 2012 at 9:15 am

    • I’m just glad for it to be over to be honest! It will be nice to see something else on TV for once!

      All the best,

      T

      May 6, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Leave a comment